Smash Bros. 3DS and Circle Pad Woes

12 11 2014

So I got Super Smash Bros. for 3DS at launch, and now that I’ve played with it over the past few weeks I think it’s finally brought to light my one major problem with the Nintendo 3DS. The Circle Pad is a poor substitute for an actual Analog Stick. This became most noticeable whenever I tried to sprint, often walking when I didn’t want to, or vice-versa. Another big problem was throwing items, in that it feels like only 25% of the time trying to do a Smash-L throw of an item it either doesn’t work or my character just dismissively tosses the item over their shoulder instead of into their foe’s face like this Gordo here:

The fact that this spiked ball is named "Gordo" will never not be amusing to me

The fact that this spiked ball is named “Gordo” will never not be funny

The problems I have with the controls in Smash are similar to the problem that I have (but didn’t realize I had until now) with Starfox 64 3D. Maneuvering feels sluggish with the Circle Pad, and maybe I’m losing my touch but the first Star Wolf fight at Fichina shouldn’t be that hard (I still won, it was just a lot closer than it used to be).

Control woes aside, Smash Bros. 3DS is generally pretty fun. The new characters (what ones I’ve played so far) are all very interesting and almost unique in their playstyles. Mega Man is a character who’s neutral A is a projectile, Little Mac is a high-speed brawler with the rough vertical threat of a lincoln log, etc. None of them really play like anybody else, except Lucina who is just Marth with a different sword hitbox. And Dark Pit…who is literally Pit with a slightly different Side-B smash.

So yeah, we’ve got clones. People who know me will know I’ve considered Toon Link a waste of a slot becuase he’s pretty much Link in terms of moves and so forth, only smaller and cel-shaded. Well I think Dark Pit takes the cake now. He literally has one move that’s even remotely different from regular Pit but everything else is the same. I know Kid Icarus is Sakurai’s game pretty much but if you’re not going to make your third Kid Icarus character different from another, that slot could’ve gone to someone who got cut (Wolf, who’s actually unique compared to Falco or Fox) or some other character (Waluigi? Reyn? Simon Belmont? Bandanna Waddle Dee? Why not?). Granted some of those characters would probably be impossible (Simon being a Konami character after all, for example).

Ultimately none of that really ruins my enjoyment of the game, nor does the small amount of content relative to previous Smash Games (considering we already know Mewtwo is on his way as DLC, and the WiiU version’s massive amount of content makes up for it), and it’s understandable that the content would be small on the 3DS outing considering the game is so massive the 3DS can’t even run the OS while the game runs. The loss of target smash is a shame, but I’ve had endless amount of fun in Smash Run because running through a level and just beasting on random enemies from Nintendo properties is a pretty good time.

Bowser makes his Hammer Bros. answer for their betrayal.

Bowser makes his Hammer Bros. answer for their betrayal.

Also a good time, making Mii fighters. Yes I know they’re not “tournament legal” but I’m here to have fun. Heck I made the entire lead cast of Darkplace:

I don't really remember Rick Dagless fighting robots...

I don’t really remember Rick Dagless fighting robots…


Or Lucien Sanchez fighting Marth to see who has the best hair...

Or Lucien Sanchez fighting Marth to see who has the best hair…


Thornton Reed and explosives seems a bit more familiar...

Thornton Reed and explosives seems a bit more familiar…


Liz being a pugilist might be a bit much though

Liz being a pugilist might be a bit much though

and I also made this fellow from JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure:

HOL HORSE SHOOTS HIS WAY IN!

HOL HORSE SHOOTS HIS WAY IN!

I know some people bemoan that they look “out of place” but whatever really, it’s still amusing to see.

I really do enjoy Smash on the 3DS despite its many faults, some of which are too small to mention here even, and it definitely fills the niche of “Smash on the Go” that I wanted (unrealistically perhaps) ever since the first Smash Bros. game on the N64. Now if only the New 3DS would just hurry up and come out here in America so I can have a slightly larger screen because sometimes it’s hard to tell what’s going on with the regular 3DS screen-size

Giant ROB is pretty easy to see though

Giant ROB is pretty easy to see though

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

